State Deadlines

Many states are making changes to their individual filing and tax payment deadlines. Virginia has extended the deadline to pay, but its filing deadline remains the same. Most states that have extended their deadlines are matching the new Federal deadline of July 15th, but several have set different deadlines.

This information is changing quickly as states continue to weigh and react to the COVID-19 situation. If you have a state tax liability, make sure to check with that state on its specific deadline. Contact us if you have questions or need help.

At the time of this writing, these are the states that have extended their deadlines:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Utah
  • Virginia (payment only)

Source: AICPA State Tax Filing Guidance for Coronavirus Pandemic 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s